Welcome to Wonderland

Who: artdc Gallery
What: Welcome to Wonderland: Rethinking Landscape
Where: 5710 Baltimore Ave., Hyattsville, MD 20781
Web: www.artdc.com
Exhibition dates: 6/29/14 – 7/27/14
Reception: Wednesday 7/2/14, 7-9 p.m.
Discuss: artdc.org/forum/index.php?topic=16794.0
Twitter: twitter.com/artdc/status/483724531832745984
Facebook: www.facebook.com/events/648029628605639/

Art by Pam Rogers "Peak to Peak Mica"

Art by Pam Rogers “Peak to Peak Mica”

“Welcome to Wonderland: Rethinking Landscape” is a juried exhibition, by curator Kayleigh Bryant-Greenwell, and guest juror Hilary-Morgan Watt, that explores abstract ideas about landscape and place.  The practice of depicting landscape is as old as the history of art itself.  Today’s artists working in abstraction and conceptual art continue to explore the relationship between art and landscape, vantage points, and distance, but with added complexities such as the meaning of exact GPS locale, urban design vs. natural scenery, and place within the vastness of the solar system.  The artists of “Welcome to Wonderland” explore life as much as they do landscape and abstraction in various 2D and 3D works.  The exhibition ” showcases abstraction, and abstract thought processes, in imaginary and impossible spatial relationships, nontraditional conceptual notions of home and place, and unconventional objects that tell the story of landscape and place.

Artists:

Chuck Rounds www.chuckrounds.com
David Terrar www.davidterrar.artspan.com
Denise Philipbar www.denisephilipbar.com
Elaine Cafritz www.elainecafritz.com
Frances Borchardt www.borchardtphotography.blogspot.com
Helen Louise C. Pettis

Julie Maynard  www.juliemaynard.com
Lauren Joseph www.laurenjoseph.net

Laurence Chandler www.laurencechandlerfineart.com
Pam Rogers www.pamrogersart.com
Robert Long www.robertlong.weebly.com

Shelley Marie www.shelleyleemarie.com
Tom Block www.tomblock.com
Travis Childers www.travischilders.com

Alex Keto www.alexketo.com

Magnetism

Who: artdc Gallery
What: Magnetism
Where: 5710 Baltimore Ave., Hyattsville, MD 20781
Webwww.artdc.com
Exhibition dates: 6/1/14 – 6/29/14
Reception: Saturday 6/7/14, 7-10 p.m.
Discusshttp://artdc.org/forum/index.php?topic=16754.0
Facebookhttps://www.facebook.com/events/257774301076140/
Twitterhttps://twitter.com/artdc/status/474013185867931649

Magnetism is an exhibition of Washington, DC-area artists from our previous 2014 small works open call show. We saw a connection between artists in that exhibit with bright color abstractions countered with monochromatic works bursting with energy.

We worked to define the connection between these works, and they are all exploding with energy and movement that made us ask, What is light? Light is electromagnetic energy. We made a bit of a leap and shortened the title to Magnetism as the show draws you in like a magnet to steel.

The show includes Mixed Media art, Paintings, Photography, and Sculpture.

Artists:
Lisa Rosenstein lisakrosenstein.com
Peter E Harper peharper.com
Teresa Sites teresasites.com
Matt MacIntire claystudio.org
Jennifer Pizzillo jennifer.pizzillo.com
Jennifer Droblyen droblyen.com
Kristen Deninno kristinedeninno.com
Robin Sutliff fleurafoto.com
Lina Alattar LinaAlattar.com
Roger Cutler